Debra Sinick

A Tree(s) Grows in The Kirkland Highlands

In Exploring Kirkland, Kirkland WA on June 23, 2009 at 4:58 am

It’s amazing how easy it is to walk by things and not really “see” them. Last week I took my dog for a walk along 112th Ave NE in the Kirkland Highlands.

and while he was doing his business, I happened to look up and notice the gorgeous canopy of the cedar tree I was standing under.

A beautiful tree canopy in The Kirkland Highlands

A beautiful tree canopy in The Kirkland Highlands

This gorgeous tree is just north of NE 95th along 112th Ave NE.  Seeing the tree for the “first” time got me noticing the other trees along  my walk.

Gingko Tree in the Kirkland Highlands

Gingko Tree in the Kirkland Highlands

A Gingko tree up close and personal? I hadn’t seen one since I was a kid traveling to the Connecticut shore with my family.  There was a huge Gingko tree in a town we’d pass through called Colchester.  We’d always battle to see who could spot it first.  The Gingko trees have beautiful leaves and the shape of the leaves is often used in art and jewelry design.  It’s also a very old species.  This tree is on the left side of 112th, just north of NE 97th.

The bark of a tree along 112th in Kirkland

The bark of a tree along 112th in Kirkland

I thought the bark of this tree was interesting, but I don’t know what it is.  Does anyone know what type of tree this is?

One of the wonderful things about the Northwest are its big, beautiful trees and if you look around, you really notice them.

Towering trees along 112th in the Kirkland Highlands

Towering trees along 112th in the Kirkland Highlands

Leave a Reply

